4th ACM Europe Celebration of Women in Computing womENcourage 2017

Call for Posters

4th ACM Europe Celebration of Women in Computing

womENcourage 2017

Barcelona, Spain, September 6-8


The ACM Europe Celebration of Women in Computing: womENcourage 2017 aims to celebrate, connect, inspire, and encourage women in computing. The conference brings together undergraduate, MSc, and PhD students, as well as researchers and professionals, to present and share their achievements and experience in computer science.

WomENcourage solicits posters from all areas of Computer Science. Posters offer the opportunity to engage with other conference attendees, disseminate research work, receive comments, practice presentation skills, benefit from discussing ideas with other researchers from the same field. Submissions should present novel ideas, designs, techniques, systems, tools, evaluations, scientific investigations, methodologies, social issues or policy issues related to any area of computing. Authors may submit original work or versions of previously published work. Posters are ideal for presenting early stage research.

Poster abstracts are to be submitted electronically through EasyChair at https://easychair.org/conferences/?conf=womencourage2017. Submissions should introduce the area in which the work has been done and should emphasize the originality and importance of the contribution. All submissions must be in English, in pdf format. They must not exceed one page in length and they must use the ACM conference publication format. This one-page extended abstract must be submitted to EasyChair as a paper which also contains a short (one paragraph) abstract. Poster abstracts that do not follow the submission guidelines will not be reviewed.

All submissions will be peer reviewed by an international Poster Evaluation Committee. Accepted submissions will be archived on the conference website (but there will be no proceedings). The Guide to a Successful Submission provides tips for preparing a good poster and provides information about the reviewing criteria. A submission may have one or more authors of any gender.

At least one author of each accepted submission is expected to attend the conference to present the ideas discussed in the submission. Information about student scholarships is available here.

Important Dates:

  • Poster abstracts: due April 30, 2017
  • Notification of accepted posters: June 5, 2017
  • Final poster abstracts due: July 3, 2017
  • Poster pdf due: July 31, 2017

Poster Evaluation Committee:

1. Rosa Badia, Barcelona Supercomputing Center, Spain

2. Janna Burman, Université Paris-Sud, France

3. Barbara Carminati, University of Insubria, Italy

4. Marios Dikaiakos, University of Cyprus, Cyprus

5. Duygu Ceylan, Adobe Research, USA

6. Amit K. Chopra, Lancaster University, UK

7. Georgiana Copil, SAP Romania SRL, Romania

8. Panagiota Fatourou, Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas & University of Crete, Greece

9. Elena Ferrari, University of Insubria, Italy

10. Paraskevi Fragopoulou, Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas & Technological Educational Institute of Crete, Greece (Chair)

11. Irini Fundulaki, Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas, Greece

12. Sarunas Girdzijauskas, KTH, Sweden

13. Bruno Goncalves, New York University, USA

14. Marieke Huisman, University of Twente, The Netherlands

15. Colette Johnen, University of Bordeaux, France

16. Admela Jukan, Technical University of Braunschweig, Germany

17. Georgia Kapitsaki, University of Cyprus, Cyprus

18. Kleanthi Lakiotaki, University of Crete, Greece

19. Carlo Mastroianni, ICAR-CNR, Italy

20. Tasos Noulas, Lancaster University, UK

21. George Pallis, University of Cyprus, Cyprus

22. Grammati Pantziou, Technological Educational Institute of Athens, Greece

23. Vassilis Papaefstathiou, Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas, Greece

24. Danica Porobic, Oracle, USA

25. Anna Puig Puig, University of Barcelona, Spain

26. Inmaculada Rodriguez Santiago, University of Barcelona, Spain

27. Mema Roussopoulos, University of Athens, Greece

28. Rizos Sakellariou, University of Manchester, UK

29. Maria Serna, Universitat Politecnica de Catalunya, Spain

30. Romina Spalazzese, Malmö University, Sweden

31. Christos Tzagkarakis, Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands

32. Pinar Tozun, IBM Almaden Research Center, USA

33. Paolo Trunfio, University of Calabria, Italy

34. Ageliki Tsioliaridou, Foundation for Research and Technology-Hellas, Greece

35. Athina Vakali, Aristotle University of Thessaloniki, Greece

36. Eugenio Zimeo, University of Sannio, Italy

Share: Share on LinkedInTweet about this on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Email this to someone