Future of Computing school in Oporto

The goal of this school is to provide participants with a theoretical and practical introduction to core state-of-the-art computing technologies, as well as to various emerging and non-conventional technologies that will likely support the future of computing over the next years.

Following the steps of the 1st edition (https://futurecomp.uptec.up.pt/othereditions/), in this 2nd edition of the Summer School on the Future of Computing, we will gather specialists from several fields of computations to share their knowledge and vision about the future of computing. This year, besides seminars and presentations covering various theoretical aspect of emerging computing technologies, we will have a set of hands-on sessions where participants will learn how to program such new computing technologies.


  • History of Computation
  • GPU-Accelerated Computing
  • Neuromorphic Computing
  • Quantum Computing
  • Biological and Chemical Computing
  • Social, Environmental and Ethical aspects of Computing


This school is intended for people who are interested in learning the fundamentals of current and emerging computer technologies, specially non-conventional ones. The school aims at gathering participants with different backgrounds and with different roles in the broader technological landscape, but who all wish to be builders of the future. More specifically, we specially invite to this school:

  • PhD and MsC students, Researchers in Academia and Industry;
  • Entrepreneurs, cloud providers, software companies in general;
  • Venture capital, research funding agencies;
  • Governmental agencies, policy makers.


Confirmed speakers:

  • Alexantrou Serb: Zepler Institute, University of Southampton;
  • Christoph Flamm: Institute for Theoretical Chemistry, University of Vienna
  • Cristiana Dinea: NVIDIA Deep Learning Institute
  • Damien Woods: Hamilton Institute, Maynooth University
  • David Lester: School of Computer Science, University of Manchester
  • Luca Cardelli: University of Oxford
  • Luis Antunes: University of Porto
  • Marco Pistoia: IBM Thomas J. Watson Research Center
  • Marcos Cuzziol: Instituto Itau Cultural, Brasil
  • Melika Payvand: Institute of Neuroinformatics, University of Zurich
  • Michael Hopkins: SpiNNaker group, University of Manchester
  • Miguel Ramalho: INESC TEC, University of Porto
  • Paulo Teixeira Coelho: University of São Paulo
  • Shaohan Hu: IBM T. J. Watson Research Center
  • Veronica Orvalho: Didimo

More to be announced soon. Check out: https://futurecomp.uptec.up.pt/speakers/

For more information: futurecomp@uptec.up.pt / https://futurecomp.uptec.up.pt/